In the context of globalization, the participation of foreign capital in China's capital market is increasing, which requires enterprises in China for better corporate governance and long-term returns to shareholders. Therefore, it is imperative to use sustainable development theory as the corporate strategy to guide the development. As a dual-listed company of Hong Kong and Shanghai Stock Exchange, Ping An has upgraded its corporate sustainable development strategy to the group strategy, so as to promote the deep integration of sustainability with business practices throughout the whole group, and to strengthen corporate governance in a more scientific, professional and systematic way. Therefore, Ping An could fulfill its responsibilities to all stakeholders, and realize the sustainable development of the company.

In 2018, Ping An issued the group's sustainable development report for the first time, elaborating on the unified business and social values of Ping An in three main chapters: ESG (environment, society and governance) strategy and management, Ping An' s six core issues of the year, and the specific practices for five major stakeholders.

1. ESG management structure: Ping An has established an effective management structure for Group ESG management according to the group structure, which enables the work of ESG to run effectively from the board of directors to the business unit. Since 2017, the management function of ESG has been added at the level of the company's executive committee and formed investor relations and ESG management committee to ensure that the company's directors and senior executives are informed of the influence and implementation of ESG risk management. The overall plan is coordinated by Group ESG office and executed by the ESG executive team. The effectiveness of ESG management is ensured from top to bottom through strategy, risk management, project planning, information disclosure and performance appraisal.

2. Ping An annual core issues: Considering the sustainable development trends and requirements both in China and across the world, and the characteristics of our own business, Ping An has extracted six core issues as the focus of annual sustainable efforts:

● Targeted poverty alleviation: Poverty eradication is the focus of worldwide concern in the 21st century, and also the basic of China's national strategy for poverty alleviation. Ping an launched the "Ping An Rural Community Support" in 2018, as the practice of impact investment, and upgraded to "Smart Poverty Alleviation" mode relying on our industrial advantages and technological strength.

● Embracing technological change: Ping An continuously promotes technological transformation, we, provides customers with intelligent products and services with deep understanding of customers’ demands, and maximizes the value brought to the society by our commercial means. While embracing technological change, we also attach great importance to information security and AI ethical governance.

● Financial services to real economy: Ping An actively supports the implementation of major national strategies, and makes use of multiple finance and technological advantages, aiming to become the backbone force in promoting the transformation of the national real economy and industrial restructuring.

● Addressing Healthcare Challenges: Medical care has always been an urgent social issue concerning people's livelihood in China. The impact of demographic and health-related risks and opportunities on insurance companies has drawn great attention from the capital market. Ping An responds by strategic planning on medical and health industry and strengthening the development of related insurance products.

● Addressing climate change risks: Climate change risks have become the world’s top three risks and aroused great attention from different stakeholders.On the one hand, Ping An conducts in-depth research on climate change-related risks and actively manages risks to reduce the impact of climate change on its multiple businesses. On the other hand, Ping An leverages business strengths of "finance + technology" to continuously develop and explore climate change-related products and services.

● Responsible investment: The pursuit of long-term and stable investment returns is a sign of the maturity of investment philosophy, as well as the expectation of domestic and foreign institutional investors. Ping An believes that responsible investment is not charity, but an investment method that can effectively avoid risks and obtain long-term returns. It constantly carries out responsible investment practice through various professional companies.

3. Sustainability Practice with stakeholders in 2018: Over the past 30 years, Ping An has been committed to building a benchmark of corporate responsibility, fulfilling its obligations to shareholders, customers, communities and environment, as well as its partners, and to achieve sustainable development together. In 2018, we continue to reward all stakeholders through business development and activities, and have achieved good results.

Please download our 2018 Sustainability report in PDF for more details.

在全球化的大背景下,國際資本在中國資本市場的參與度越來越高,內地企業面臨著外資資本對於良好的企業治理以及長期穩定回報的要求,用可持續發展理論作為企業戰略來指導企業發展勢在必行。平安作為A+H 兩地上市公司,已將企業可持續發展戰略上升為集團戰略,推動集團所有業務公司深刻結合業務實踐, 更加科學性、專業性、體系化地加強企業治理,履行對各個利益相關方的責任,實現企業可持續發展。

2018年,平安第一次發佈集團可持續發展報告,從ESG(環境、社會和管治)戰略與管理、平安年度6大核心議題,以及針對5大利益相關方的具體實踐,闡述平安統一的商業與社會價值。

1. ESG管理架構:平安根據集團架構建立了匹配ESG管理的有效管理架構,使ESG工作從董事會貫穿到業務單元。自2017年起,在公司執行委員會層面增加ESG管理職能形成投資者關係及ESG管理委員會,確保公司董事及高管獲知ESG風險管理及內部監控執行情況及進展。 整體由集團ESG辦公室統籌,ESG執行小組推動,通過戰略制定、風險管理、项目規劃、信息披露以及績效考核等方面,自上而下地保證ESG管理的有效性。

2. 平安年度核心議題:平安深度結合國內外可持續發展趨勢和要求,以及自身業務的特點,提煉了6大核心議題作為年度可持續發展工作的重點:

● 精准扶貧:消除貧困是21世紀全世界範圍內普遍關注的重點議題,同時也是中國脫貧攻堅國家戰略的出發點。平安於2018啟動“三村工程”,踐行影響力投資, 並依託行業優勢和科技力量升級為“智慧扶貧”模式。

● 擁抱科技變革:平安持續推進科技轉型,深度理解客戶需求,為客戶提供智慧化的產品和服務,用商業手段為全社會創造最大的價值。在擁抱科技變革的同時,我們也十分重視資訊安全和AI倫理治理。

● 金融服務實體經濟:平安積極支持國家重大戰略實施,利用多元金融和科技力量,成為促進實體經濟轉型、推動產業結構調整的中堅力量 。

● 解決醫療健康難題:醫療一直是關乎中國民生的急迫社會問題;人口和健康相關風險和機遇對於保險企業的影響,受到資本市場極大關注。平安通過戰略佈局大醫療健康產業以及加強相關保險產品的開發來做出回應。

● 應對氣候變化風險:氣候變化風險已經成為世界範圍內前三大風險,受到不同利益相關方的強烈關注。平安一方面對氣候變化有關風險進行深入研究,主動管理風險來降低氣候變化對於平安多元業務的影響; 一方面利用“金融+科技”業務優勢,持續開發與探索氣候變化相關產品和服務。

● 責任投資:追求長期穩定的投資回報是投資理念成熟的一個標誌,也是國內外機構投資者對於平安的期望。平安相信責任投資並不是慈善,而是可以有效規避風險、獲得長期穩定回報的投資方式,不斷通過各個專業公司進行責任投資實踐。

3. 2018年利益相關方實踐成果:30年來,平安一直致力於打造企業責任的標杆,履行對股東、客戶、社區和環境,及合作夥伴的義務,致力於與各個利益相關方實現協同的可持續的發展。2018年我們持續通過業務發展回饋各個利益相關方,收穫了很好的成績單。

詳請下載 2018平安可持續發展報告