Home / About Ping An / Corporate Culture : System

System

Cultural philosophy

Ping An's vision is to "become a world-leading personal financial services provider". Ping An fulfills its corporate social responsibility, and creates maximum value for its customers, employees, shareholders and communities. Ping An advocates a value of "being a moral person of value who constantly seeks excellence, based on traditional culture and oriented by value maximization". Ping An upholds its spirits of "Leading in expertise, providing service with integrity, creating value, and supporting communities". Ping An sticks to its brand positioning of "expertise creates value", and strives to provide customer experience of "expertise makes life easier" in a new era of "integrated finance +" and "internet +".


Cultural structure

PA Corporate Culture Core structure

Culture Evolution

  • 1988:
    initial
    phase
  • 1992:
    ideology
  • 1994:
    Development
    Concept
  • 1994:
    Values
  • 2002:
    behavior-oriented
    culture
  • 2006:
    Period of
    enrichment
  • from 2009
    to now
  • Stage I: Enterprising spirit

    Ping An was established in Shenkou on May 27, 1988. At that time, China was at its initial stage of the transition to a market economy and was groping forward with its reform and opening up policy. Government policies and regulations were yet to be well established and the commercial sense of the mass was just in the bud. The insurance market in China was in a monopolistic state.

    In the late 1980s, the urban residents had very limited knowledge about insurance, but the earliest staff of Ping An worked passionately and overcome difficulties that cannot be imagined today. Once a colleague promoted business at a Public Security Bureau office and was questioned: "how can a city have two insurance companies? If there are two Public Security Bureau authorities, which one is the higher-up?" When promoting insurance products in enterprises, people even asked: “What are the specifications of your safes?” At that time, Ping An was under tremendous pressure in face of the resource scarcity, harsh conditions and misunderstanding of the public. With outstanding courage and bravery, Ping An and its employees overcome all difficulties, and finally built up the company and established the initial connotation of Ping An culture.

    1. Enterprising and innovative: to reform for survival and to innovate for development

    2. Performance-based appraisal mechanism

    The above thought and mechanism seem simple and reasonable now but was strange at that time and hence evoked a strong response from the public, even in Shekou, the front line of the reform and open-up, because people had got used to the rules of planned economy, i.e. to work for one company for a lifetime.

    The mechanism and culture, like a breath of fresh air, attracted a great number of young people to join the company, as a result of which, the company grew rapidly from a 400-square-meter office into an insurer with a nationwide network. With outstanding courage and insight as well as a spirit of self-devotion, the company continuously broke the original insurance regulations and policies in China and thus foreshadowed thorough changes to the market pattern in the later days.

  • Stage II: Confucianism

    In the context that the society did not accept or even rejected the commercial culture, the sudden open to the outside world and accelerated reform resulted in a mercenary atmosphere that people lacked of business ethnics and desired for quick success, which conflicted with the principle of good faith followed in the commercial society. With the rapid business expansion of the company, the unhealthy atmosphere also affected the mentality of Ping An people. Though the employees worked very hard, they did not share the same value with the company. People had no code of conduct to follow and had no idea why they came together and for what they worked so hard.

    In order to develop into a thoughtful company with culture, vitality and the capability to realize long-term development, the company began to return to the essence of Chinese traditional culture using traditional Confucianism as the base of the company and “benevolence, righteousness, propriety, wisdom, faith, honesty" as the ethics of Ping An people as well as the yardstick to deal with various relationships. On this basis, the foundation of Ping An culture was established and Ping An people started to correctly understand and handle the relationship between individuals and the company, society and national interests.

    In order to strengthen the company's cohesion and get the development of employees and the development of the company bound closely, Ping An launched "employee partnership fund" against all the odds, which were eventually recognized by the government and the public.

  • Stage III: International strategies

    In mid 1990s, the company began to implement its international strategies, namely, to introduce foreign strategic investors, to learn from international corporate governance structure and to attract overseas talents, which is called as "three foreign" ("foreign capital", "foreign structure" and "foreign brains" by the company. The purpose to introduce the “three foreign” is to establish "international standards", that is, to establish Ping An’s "international standards" in a short time by using the international standards that foreign insurance companies took hundreds of years to build, so as to enhance the competitive edge of Ping An. In the meanwhile, the company was once again pushed to the cusp of the era due to its views that "there is no need to cross a river by feeling the stones if there is a bridge over the river and you can cross the river soon by paying the toll", and that " a cat that can catch rats is a good cat, whether a foreign cat or a local cat”.

    With the help from a large number of outstanding talents attracted from overseas, the company cultivated a lot of local talents rapidly, making contribution to not only the development of the company but also to the advancement of the industry. The company became the first insurer in China to introduce international strategic investors, to establish a financial and actuarial system in accordance with international standards, to engage a great number of overseas professionals, and to promote life insurance products to individuals. The introduction of the “three foreign” helped Ping An build its international vision, a brand new management philosophy, and an international, professional management team, enabling Ping An to usher its rapid development and expansion.

    In this process, the company not only adopted the overseas technologies and experience as the tool to develop the company, but also summarized the essence of western culture, i.e. the rules of persisting in principles, disciplines and policies, and got it integrated into the traditional “people-oriented” culture of the company.

  • Stage IV: Value-oriented culture

    At the turn of the century, Ping An found that its branches and outlets all over the country had different business management models and standards each. There was no uniform standard or business planning, neither was a deep understanding of modern business management. Generally speaking, there are a variety of legitimate business purposes to support the existence of a company and various standards to evaluate the behavior of a company, but what is the most important purpose and the most authoritative standard? If this cannot be made clear, it is nonsense to talk about common understanding and uniform action.

    After more than ten years of practice and an in-depth thinking about the standard of “doing things”, the company put forward a brand new value management culture that "value maximization is the sole criterion to test all work". The company divided its values into two parts, namely financial value and intrinsic value. Financial value is reflected in the company's various financial indicators such as stock price and market capitalization, while the intrinsic value of the company is the driving force for its sustainable development, such as excellent culture, strong brand, core skills, development potential and future trends. Value maximization is reflected in market capitalization and other indicators externally, and is showed internally as the balance between the four liabilities of the company (responsibilities for shareholders, customers, employees and society). That is to say, the company would encourage things that can help fulfill the four liabilities and maintain the sustainable profit growth, and vice versa. The principle of value maximization was hence followed by Ping An people to deal with others, used as the action plan for business management and seen as the sole criterion to test all work. "Anything that will help the company maximize its value is the right thing that we strive for."

    ★Connotation of Ping An culture: Build on traditional culture to grow into a noble and valuable person in pursuit of excellence and value maximization

    ★Corporate value is the basis for realizing the value of individuals. Value maximization is the Program of Action guiding the business management of the company and the sole criterion for testing all the work.

    ★Ping An ambition: to become a world-class integrated financial services group (substituted “leading” for "first class" in 2006)

    ★PingAn values: honesty, trust, enterprising, success.

  • Stage V: Implementation/policies

    The unit-linked insurance incident is an unforgettable experience and a costly and valuable lesson to Ping An people. A strategic planning, no matter how perfect it is, can never be achieved if not being carefully implemented.

    The company went back to its culture for reasons behind and began to vigorously pursue the culture of implementation. It was stressed that capability of implementation is the company's core competitive edge, and that implementation is the obligation of each manager. In the meanwhile, the company vigorously strengthened relevant rules. In the Sales Elite Summit held in Thailand in 2002, Chairman Peter Ma of Ping An Group delivered a speech titled “build a hundred-year-old company based on integrity”. The keynote has two meanings, "to build a century-old company on the basis of good faith” and to emphasize the "credibility crisis", reminding all Ping An people to understand the significance of customers’ trust and the necessity to win the trust of customers, since the company would otherwise fail. To rebuild customers’ confidence in Ping An, the company carried out the "Customer Revisit Plan" and revisited 1.26million customers in total. During the revisits, Ping An agents apologized for the misleading information delivered to customers and offered a variety of solutions to help customers protect their own interests as much as possible.

    After three years of efforts, the company achieved remarkable results in 2005 in the establishment of company rules and policies. PAG realized its holistic listing with the participation of HSBC and gradually improved its capability of implementation, resulting in the gradual progress in its centralized and standardized operation.

  • Stage VI: Leadership/platform

    After the baptism of the capital market, the company grew into a hundred-billion-yuan platform aiming to become greater and stronger, with the ambition to become a "world's leading integrated financial services group" instead of a “world-class” one.

    The company believes that to become a market leader in a real sense, it is necessary to add “leadership” in the connotation of the concept of development, making the pursuit of leadership the DNA of all Ping An people and a part of Ping An culture.

    International financial giants usually have strong capital and great influence, providing customers with a full range of integrated financial services and building leadership in various aspects. Representatives of such financial giants include the US-based Citigroup, Bank of America, HSBC and American international Group. The four companies all register market capitalization of over 1 trillion and have a history of over 100 years, and they are market leaders, rule makers and price setters. Ping An aimed to grow into such a financial giant and compete with these best companies in the market.

    The connotation of the word “leadership” is to become the market leader, the rule maker and the price setter.

    To be a market leader, the company shall have the largest market share, the strongest profitability as well as unchallengeable and unshakable position in the market.

    To be a rule maker, the company shall establish industry standards for products, services and so on and build an example in business rules, operating procedures and etc.

    To become a price setter, the company shall be able to decide the interest rates, the prices of insurance products, the level of fees and the like.

    The company reflected and realized that it had a great gap with the above-mentioned multinational corporations. To become a world leading integrated financial group, the company shall have the spirit of continuous pursuit of leadership implanted in the mind of each of its people and in the corporate culture. “All Ping An people across Ping An, from top to bottom, shall have the confidence and determination to beat their opponents, and get “continuous pursuit of leadership” implanted in their minds. Only in this way can we figure out strategies for achieving the targets and overtaking our rivals.”

  • New stage: “Expertise • Value” evolution

    The company continued to enrich the connotation of “Expertise • Value” and launched the slogans of "Expertise crates value" and "Expertise makes life easier". Centered on the culture of expertise, the company designed a new company song and called on everyone of Ping An, common employees and leaders, to start from customer experience and focus on each single thing to improve the level of professionalism. The company conducted "professional skills Olympics" and "5 + 1" project targeting sales people and managers to enhance the professionalism of its employees. While continuously enriching the connotation of its corporate culture and strengthen the sense of crisis, the company is also continuously optimizing its services and improving the Net Promoter Score (NPS) of customer experience. In the meanwhile, by virtue of newspapers, morning meetings, new media and other communication channels, the company has been enhancing the communication of corporate culture with its subsidiaries and strengthening the consistency in understanding, expression and implementation of corporate culture. In the meanwhile, the company also took measures like publications, morning meetings and systematic communication about the corporate culture to accelerate the integration of banking culture.

首頁 / 關於平安 / 企業文化 :文化體系

文化體系

文化理念

中國平安以“成為國際領先的個人金融生活服務提供者”為願景,恪守企業社會責任,為客戶、員工、股東和社會創造最大化的價值,宣導“以優秀的傳統文化為基礎,以追求卓越為過程,以價值最大化為導向,做一個品德高尚和有價值的人”的價值觀,弘揚“專業領先、誠信服務、創造價值、回饋社會”的平安精神,堅持“專業創造價值”的品牌定位,在“綜合金融+”和“互聯網+”的新時代,實現“專業,讓生活更簡單”的客戶體驗。


文化架構

平安企業文化核心結構

文化演變

  • 1988發軔期
  • 1992思想觀
  • 1994發展觀
  • 1999價值觀
  • 2002行為觀
  • 2006豐富期
  • 2009年至今
  • 第一階段:創業精神

    1988年5月27日,偏居南方蛇口一隅,平安成立。中國經濟大環境下,市場經濟體制轉型蹣跚起步,改革開放進程躑躅前進,政府政策法規、社會商業意識正處在生成、轉變與更新中,而此時,中國保險市場正處於獨家壟斷的狀態。

    80代末,城市居民對保險的認識非常有限,公司最早的一批員工在交通極為不便、人們極為不解的情況下,開始了激情創業的歷程——遇到的困難是今天的平安難以想像的。有的同仁在公安局介紹公司時,遭到質問:「一個城市裡怎麼可以有兩家保險公司,如果有兩家公安局,誰管誰?」在一些企業推廣保險產品,甚至曾經被詢問「你們的保險箱是什麼規格的?」條件的匱乏、環境的惡劣、社會的不接受等,給平安的創業帶來極大的壓力,憑着一馬當先的勇氣和創業者大無畏的精神,公司和員工不畏艱辛、排除萬難,勇於犧牲、敢於勝利,不僅搭建起了公司雛形,而且樹立起平安文化最初階段的內涵:

    1、「兩創」:創業、創新,喊出了「在改革中求生存,在創新中求發展」的口號。

    2、「三能」:執行「人員能進能出、幹部能上能下、薪水能高能低」的用人政策。

    這些思想和機制現在看來簡單、理所當然,但當時,這套機制給社會帶來了巨大的衝擊,即便在改革開放的前沿蛇口,也引發了劇烈的震動——人們適應的還是計劃經濟時代的規矩:一個人,一家單位,一輩子。

    令人耳目一新的機制和文化下,公司吸引了一大批有志青年加盟,迅速從一家辦公面積不到400平方米的公司,廣鋪網絡,繼而鋪蓋了全國。同時,憑着創業者的膽識和獻身精神,公司不斷突破國家原有的保險法規政策,為日後徹底改變市場格局寫下了伏筆。

  • 第二階段:儒家思想

    由於歷史原因,中國社會在還不承認甚至極端排斥商業文化的情況下,突然面對國門大開、改革加速的環境,商業道德缺失,急功近利和唯利是圖的不良心態與風氣在社會蔓延——這與商業社會講求信譽、注重誠信的原則之間產生了一種矛盾。隨着公司規模的迅速擴大,社會風氣進而影響到公司員工的心態。公司發現,自己的隊伍里,雖然大家勤奮工作、努力拚搏,但是公司和員工沒有共同的價值觀,作為「平安人」缺乏統一的行為規範,每一個人不知道為什麼而走到一起來,究竟又為了什麼而勤奮拼搏。

    為了讓公司成為一家有思想、有文化、有生命力的公司,長期發展下去,公司開始回歸中華傳統文化的精髓,確立了以傳統儒家思想作為平安人的為人之基、立司之本,以「仁、義、禮、智、信、廉」作為平安人的道德規範,以及處理各種關係的準繩。在這個基礎上,平安文化的根基被確認,互相尊重、講究禮儀、和諧相處的內部人文環境開始營造,員工正確認識、處理個人與公司、社會、國家利益之間的關係。

    為了強化公司的凝聚力,把員工的發展和公司的發展緊密結合,平安力排眾議推出了「員工合股基金」,並且堅持下來,最終得到了政府和社會的認可。

  • 第三階段:國際戰略

    90年代中期,公司開始更直接地「拿來」,實行以「三外」為主的國際化戰略——即引進海外戰略投資者、學習借鑒國際化的公司治理結構、吸納海外良才,公司形象的稱之為「外資」、「外體」、「外腦」。引進『三外』是為了建立「國際化標準」,用較短時間把外資保險企業用上百年時間樹立的「國際化標準」拿來為我所用,增強平安對中資、外資競爭對手的競爭力。同時,公司提出「如果河上有橋,付點過橋費就能很快過橋,何必摸着石頭過河」的「過橋論」,「不管洋貓土貓,抓到老鼠就是好貓」的「貓論」,再一次把自己推到了時代的風口浪尖上。

    通過一大批優秀的海外人才幫助,公司迅速成長起一大批本土幹部,不僅為公司,而且為行業輸送了人才;不僅發展了自身,還推動了行業的進步。公司成為國內首家引進國際戰略投資者、國內首家建立國際標準的財務與精算體系、國內首家大規模延請海外專業人才、率先開展個人壽險營銷業務的金融保險企業。「三外」的引入,給平安帶來了國際化視野和全新的管理理念,幫忙平安構建了國際化、專業化的管理團隊等,平安迎來了業務高速發展和規模急劇擴張的發展階段。

    在這個過程中,公司不單單將技術、經驗作為發展公司的「器」、「體」,還將其總結、升華,歸納出「道」、「用」,並一起植入公司文化的魂魄,將西方講原則、講紀律、講制度的理性精神和傳統文化的人本精神相互結合,進一步豐富平安文化的內涵。

  • 第四階段:價值文化

    公司發展到世紀之交,卻發現全國各地的平安有着各式各樣的經營管理模式和標準,一個機構有一個機構的規範體系。沒有標準、沒有企劃體系,對什麼是現代企業經營沒有深刻理解。一家企業的存在有多種合理的商業目的,而一家企業的行為方式也存在多種評價標準,每種目的的實現都要依據不同的標準,但哪一種才是企業最重要的目的和最權威的標準?如果這個認識不梳理清楚,何談統一認識,統一行動?

    經過創業十多年後的市場和管理實踐,公司對企業中的「做人」與「做事」,以及「做事的標準」進行了深入的思考,提出了「價值最大化是檢驗一切工作的惟一標準」的新價值管理文化。公司將價值分為財務價值和內在價值兩種,財務價值反應在公司的各種財務表現指標,如股價、市值等;內在價值則是公司可持續發展的動力,如優秀企業文化、強勢品牌、核心技能、發展潛力、未來趨勢等等。價值最大化對外表現為市值等財務指標,對內則表現為公司的四大責任(對股東、客戶、員工、社會負責)的平衡,即:有利於四大責任的實現並能保持公司利潤持續增長的事情,公司就鼓勵;反之,公司就反對。價值最大化原則因此成為平安人為人、處事的橋樑,成為平安經營管理的行動綱領,被看作檢驗一切工作的惟一標準。「凡是有利於公司價值最大化事情,就是對的,就是我們努力追求的。」

    ★平安企業文化的內涵:以傳統文化為基礎,以追求卓越為過程,以價值最大化為導向,做一個品德高尚和有價值的人。

    ★公司價值是實現個人價值的基礎,價值最大化是我們經營管理中行動的綱領,指路的明燈,檢驗一切工作的惟一標準。

    ★平安的抱負:成為國際一流的綜合金融服務集團(2006年,「一流」提法被「領先」取代)

    ★平安價值觀:誠實、信任、進取、成就。

  • 第五階段:執行/制度

    投連事件是一個令平安人刻骨銘心的經歷,它使平安得到了一個代價不菲的寶貴教訓——再完美的戰略規劃和計劃,如果得不到認真執行,永遠不可能實現。

    公司從文化上找根源,開始大力推行執行文化,強調執行力就是公司的核心競爭力,執行就是每一個經理人的天職,也是制度化的一部分。同期,公司大力強化制度化建設。 2002年在泰國召開的明星高峰會,集團董事長馬明哲的報告主題定為「百年老店,誠信為基」。這個標題的兩層意思,第一層是「以誠信為基礎建設百年老店」,第二是強調「誠信危機」。公司上下齊心,繃緊「誠信」的神經:必須取信於客戶,否則公司將無法立足。為了重塑客戶對平安的信任,公司付諸全力,實施了「百萬客戶大回訪計劃」,總共回訪了126萬客戶,為他們受到的誤導致歉,提供多樣化的解決方案,儘可能幫助客戶最大限度地維護自身權益。

    經過三年的努力,到2005年,公司的制度化建設已經取得了明顯成效。隨着滙豐入股,集團整體上市,公司的執行水平逐漸提升,政令通暢,制度化建設深入人心,集中化、標準化運作水平不斷進步。

  • 第六階段:領先/平台

    經過資本市場的洗禮,公司已經跨上了千億元級的競爭平台,要向更高更大的平台進發,承受萬億元級的競爭強度。公司的抱負由原來一直倡導的「國際一流」改成了「國際領先的綜合金融服務集團」。

    為了成為真正的市場領導者,公司認為,在文化內涵中,在發展觀中,還要補充豐富兩個字——「領先」,要讓「追求領先」成為全體平安人的DNA,將「領先」內化為平安文化的一部分。

    資本實力雄厚、影響力大、為客戶提供全方位的綜合金融服務,方方面面都是市場領導者的角色,這是國際市場金融巨無霸企業的特點,這些企業包括美國花旗、美國銀行、滙豐和美國國際集團。這四家企業都是市值過萬億的巨頭,每一家的歷史都超過100年,是市場的主導者、市場規則的制定者、市場價格的制定者,公司闡釋這些國際領先的企業,是全球範圍的、行業的領導者,而公司立志要和這些最好的企業比拼。

    市場的主導者、規則的制訂者、價格的制定者,這是公司認可的「領先」二字的內涵。

    首先,要成為市場的主導者,必須擁有最大的市場份額,最強的盈利能力,同時具有不可挑戰、無法撼動的市場主導地位。

    第二,要成為市場規則的制定者,包括建立產品標準、服務標準等行業標準,以及樹立起業務規章、運作流程等行業典範。

    第三,要成為市場價格的制定者,包括決定市場利率、承保價格、收費水平等。

    公司反躬自身,與這幾家跨國機構相比,各方各面都還存在相當大的距離。要成為國際領先的綜合金融集團,就必須在文化中、在思想認識上樹立「持續追求領先」的重要理念,讓它在公司每個人的腦海中、行動中佔據舉足輕重的地位,內化為每個平安人的DNA。「從上到下,每個單位、每個機構一把手,都要有一定戰勝對手的信心和決心,推動自己的團隊層層領先,上下一致,堅持不懈,將持續追求領先融合成為平安文化的DNA,這樣才能想出策略去實現目標,才有可能超越。」

  • 新階段:「專業•價值」

    2009年開始,公司全新繼續豐富「專業•價值」內涵,推出「專業創造價值」、「專業,讓生活更簡單」的內外宣傳口號,加強各系列文化的一致性。圍繞專業文化適時推出新司歌,並號召「專業,從我做起、從領導做起、從提升客戶體驗做起、從每件事做起、從每一天做起」,針對一線員工和管理人員分別開展「專業技能奧運會」和「5+1」工程,提昇平安人的專業性;完善企業文化內涵,強化危機意識;不斷升級服務舉措,提升客戶體驗NPS值。並且利用報刊、晨會、新媒體等傳播渠道,加強對專業公司文化傳播聲量,強化文化理念認知、文化表現和文化執行的一致性,通過刊物進駐、晨會頻道開播、文化理念系統宣導等措施加速銀行文化的融合。